DOPs That Produce Rosato Wine

Looking for an interesting new rosato to try?

Below is a list of all the denominations in Italy that produce rosato table wines (including still and frizzante wines, but not sparkling wines or dessert wines). The list is grouped initially by the dominant grape variety in the wine, if any, as required by DOP rules. In many cases, these varieties have a minimum of just 50 percent in the wine, so these are not necessarily varietal wines. The last section lists the DOPs that do not require their rosato to focus on any particular variety. Some of these require a blend of two or more varieties of which none has a majority share; others allow the use of any proportion of several varieties, leaving winemakers free to make either varietal wines or blends as they choose. For a straightforward alphabetical list of these DOPs, click here.

Sangiovese based

Amelia DOC (Umbria)
Aprilia DOC (Lazio)
Arborea DOC (Sardegna)
Assisi DOC (Umbria)
Barco Reale di Carmignano DOC (Toscana)
Candia dei Colli Apuani DOC (Toscana)
Capalbio DOC (Toscana)
Cilento DOC (Campania)
Colli Altotiberini DOC (Umbria)
Colli dell’Etruria Centrale DOC (Toscana)
Colli Etruschi Viterbesi / Tuscia DOC (Lazio)
Colli Perugini DOC (Umbria)
Colli Pesaresi DOC (Marche)
Elba DOC (Toscana)
Grottino di Roccanova DOC (Basilicata)
Monteregio di Massa Marittima DOC (Toscana)
Orcia DOC (Toscana)
Orta Nova DOC (Puglia)
Parrina DOC (Toscana)
San Gimignano DOC (Toscana)
San Torpè DOC (Toscana)
Sannio DOC (Campania)
Sovana DOC (Toscana)
Torgiano DOC (Umbria)
Val d’Arbia DOC (Toscana)
Valdichiana Toscana DOC (Toscana)

Negroamaro based

Alezio DOC (Puglia)
Brindisi DOC (Puglia)
Copertino DOC (Puglia)
Galatina DOC (Puglia)
Leverano DOC (Puglia)
Lizzano DOC (Puglia)
Matino DOC (Puglia)
Nardò DOC (Puglia)
Negroamaro di Terra d’Otranto DOC (Puglia)
Salice Salentino DOC (Puglia)
Squinzano DOC (Puglia)

Merlot based

Alto Adige / Südtirol DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Arcole DOC (Veneto)
Circeo DOC (Lazio)
Corti Benedettine del Padovano DOC (Veneto)
Friuli Latisana DOC (Friuli–Venezia Giulia)
Riviera del Brenta DOC (Veneto)
Terre dell’Alta Val d’Agri DOC (Basilicata)
Vicenza DOC (Veneto)

Montepulciano based

Biferno DOC (Molise)
Cerasuolo d’Abruzzo DOC (Abruzzo)
Controguerra DOC (Abruzzo)
Molise DOC (Molise)
Pentro di Isernia / Pentro DOC (Molise)
Roma DOC (Lazio)
San Severo DOC (Puglia)

Lambrusco based

Lambrusco di Sorbara DOC (Emilia Romagna)
Lambrusco Grasparossa di Castelvetro DOC (Emilia Romagna)
Lambrusco Mantovano DOC (Lombardia)
Lambrusco Salamino di Santa Croce DOC (Emilia Romagna)
Modena DOC (Emilia Romagna)
Reggiano DOC (Emilia Romagna)

Other Varieties Dominant

Aglianico: Aglianico del Taburno DOCG (Campania)
Aglianico: Galluccio DOC (Campania)
Aglianico: Irpinia DOC (Campania)
Aglianico: Scavigna DOC (Calabria)
Aleatico: Pergola DOC (Marche)
Barbera: Castel San Lorenzo DOC (Campania)
Bombino Nero: Castel del Monte DOC (Puglia)
Cabernet Sauvignon: Colline Joniche Tarantine DOC (Puglia)
Cannonau: Cannonau di Sardegna DOC (Sardegna)
Carignano: Carignano del Sulcis DOC (Sardegna)
Corvina: Bardolino DOC (Veneto)
Dolcetto: Pornassio / Ormeasco di Pornassio DOC (Liguria)
Gaglioppo: Cirò DOC (Calabria)
Groppello: Valtènesi DOC (Lombardia)
Lagrein: Alto Adige / Südtirol DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Lagrein: Trentino DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Malvasia Nera: Malvasia di Casorzo d’Asti DOC (Piemonte)
Moscato Rosa: Alto Adige / Südtirol DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Nebbiolo: Albugnano DOC (Piemonte)
Nebbiolo: Colline Novaresi DOC (Piemonte)
Nebbiolo: Coste della Sesia DOC (Piemonte)
Nerello Mascalese: Contea di Sclafani DOC (Sicilia)
Nerello Mascalese: Etna DOC (Sicilia)
Nero d’Avola: Contessa Entellina DOC (Sicilia)
Nero d’Avola: Riesi DOC (Sicilia)
Nero d’Avola: Sambuca di Sicilia DOC (Sicilia)
Pelaverga: Colline Saluzzesi DOC (Piemonte)
Piedirosso: Campi Flegrei DOC (Campania)
Piedirosso: Vesuvio DOC (Campania)
Pinot Nero: Alto Adige / Südtirol DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Pinot Nero: Colli Piacentini DOC (Emilia Romagna)
Pinot Nero: Oltrepò Pavese DOC (Lombardia)
Primitivo: Gioia del Colle DOC (Puglia)
Primitivo: Matera DOC (Basilicata)
Raboso: Bagnoli di Sopra / Bagnoli DOC (Veneto)
Raboso: Venezia DOC (Veneto)
Schiava: Terre del Colleoni / Colleoni DOC (Lombardia)
Teroldego: Teroldego Rotaliano DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige)
Tintilia: Tintilia del Molise DOC (Molise)
Uva di Troia: Barletta DOC (Puglia)
Uva di Troia: Tavoliere delle Puglie DOC (Puglia)

Blends/No Required Dominant Variety

Alcamo DOC (Sicilia): numerous varieties
Alghero DOC (Sardegna): Cabernet, Cagnulari, Merlot, Sangiovese
Bivongi DOC (Calabria): Castiglione, Gaglioppo, Greco Nero, Nero d’Avola, Nocera
Bolgheri DOC (Toscana): Cabernet, Merlot, Sangiovese, Syrah
Canavese DOC (Piemonte): Bonarda, Freisa, Nebbiolo, Neretto di Bairo, Uva Rara
Castel del Monte Bombino Nero DOCG (Puglia): Aglianico, Bombino Nero, Uva di Troia
Castelli Romani DOC (Lazio): numerous varieties
Cerveteri DOC (Lazio): Montepulciano, Sangiovese
Colli del Trasimeno / Trasimeno DOC (Umbria): Cabernet, Ciliegiolo, Gamay, Merlot, Sangiovese
Colli Tortonesi DOC (Piemonte): numerous varieties
Costa d’Amalfi DOC (Campania): Aglianico, Piedirosso, Sciascinoso
Eloro DOC (Sicilia): Frappato, Nero d’Avola, Perricone
Friuli Annia DOC (Friuli–Venezia Giulia): Cabernet, Merlot, Refosco
Friuli Aquileia DOC (Friuli–Venezia Giulia): numerous varieties
Friuli Grave DOC (Friuli–Venezia Giulia): Cabernet, Carmenère, Merlot, Pinot Nero, Refosco
Friuli Isonzo / Isonzo del Friuli DOC (Friuli–Venezia Giulia): numerous varieties
Garda Colli Mantovani DOC (Lombardia): numerous varieties
Garda DOC (Lombardia and Veneto): Barbera, Groppello, Marzemino, Sangiovese
Golfo del Tigullio–Portofino / Portofino DOC (Liguria): Ciliegiolo, Dolcetto
Gravina DOC (Puglia): numerous varieties
Lamezia DOC (Calabria): Gaglioppo, Greco Nero, Marsigliana
Langhe DOC (Piemonte): Barbera, Dolcetto, Nebbiolo
Mandrolisai DOC (Sardegna): Bovale Sardo, Cannonau, Monica
Maremma Toscana DOC (Toscana): Ciliegiolo, Sangiovese
Monferrato DOC (Piemonte): numerous varieties
Monreale DOC (Sicilia): Nerello Mascalese, Perricone, Sangiovese
Montecucco DOC (Toscana): Ciliegiolo, Sangiovese
Nettuno DOC (Lazio): Sangiovese, Trebbiano
Piemonte DOC (Piemonte): Barbera, Croatina, Dolcetto, Freisa, Nebbiolo
Pinerolese DOC (Piemonte): Barbera, Bonarda, Nebbiolo, Neretto di Bairo
Riviera del Garda Bresciano / Garda Bresciano DOC (Lombardia): Barbera, Groppello, Marzemino, Sangiovese
S. Anna di Isola Capo Rizzuto DOC (Calabria): numerous varieties
Savuto DOC (Calabria): Aglianico, Gaglioppo, Greco Nero, Nerello Cappuccio
Sciacca DOC (Sicilia): numerous varieties
Sicilia DOC (Sicilia): Frappato, Nerello Mascalese, Nero d’Avola, Perricone
Tarquinia DOC (Lazio): Cesanese, Montepulciano, Sangiovese
Terra d’Otranto DOC (Puglia): Malvasia Nera, Negroamaro, Primitivo
Terratico di Bibbona DOC (Toscana): Merlot, Sangiovese
Terre di Cosenza DOC (Calabria): Aglianico, Gaglioppo, Greco Nero, Magliocco Canino, Nero d’Avola
Val d’Arno di Sopra / Valdarno di Sopra DOC (Toscana): Cabernet, Merlot, Syrah
Val di Cornia DOC (Toscana): Cabernet, Merlot, Sangiovese
Val Polcèvera DOC (Liguria): Ciliegiolo, Dolcetto, Sangiovese
Valdadige / Etschtaler DOC (Trentino–Alto Adige): numerous varieties
Valle d’Aosta / Vallée d’Aoste DOC (Valle d’Aosta): numerous varieties