Prolific group of several unrelated varieties, all white. The only related ones are (1) Trebbiano Abruzzese and Trebbiano Spoletino and (2) Trebbiano di Lugana and Trebbiano di Soave (which are really Verdicchio). Primary varieties:

  • Trebbiano Abruzzese: The highest-quality Trebbiano (apart from the ones that are actually Verdicchio). High acidity. Aromas & flavors: White flowers, peach, citrus.
  • Trebbiano Toscano: The most planted type of Trebbiano. Same as Ugni Blanc, the grape of Cognac in France. High in acidity. Aromas & flavors: Generally neutral; can be delicately herbal and lemony.

Read more about the genetic relationships here.

In a nutshell

Alternative Names and Subvarieties: Trebbiano Abruzzese, Trebbiano di Soave (Trebbiano di Lugana, Turbiana), Trebbiano Giallo (Rossetto), Trebbiano Modenese, Trebbiano Romagnolo, Trebbiano Spoletino, Trebbiano Toscano (Albanella, Procanico, and—in France and other countries—Ugni Blanc)

Best Known For: The most common white grape variety in Italy, featuring in many table wines

Where Grown: Widespread, especially in the center and south, with the largest concentrations in Emilia-Romagna (30%), Puglia (19%), and Abruzzo (17%)

Vineyard Area: 36,796 ha (90,885 acres)

Denominations that use this grape variety

Majority Component in One or More Wines of:

Principal White Grape Varieties:

Amelia DOC, Aprilia DOC, Arborea DOC, Assisi DOC, Bianco Capena DOC, Bianco dell’Empolese DOC, Bianco di Pitigliano DOC, Biferno DOC, Bosco Eliceo DOC, Capalbio DOC, Capriano del Colle DOC, Castel San Lorenzo DOC, Castelli Romani DOC, Cerveteri DOC, Circeo DOC, Colli Albani DOC, Colli Altotiberini DOC, Colli d’Imola DOC, Colli del Trasimeno / Trasimeno DOC, Colli dell’Etruria Centrale DOC, Colli di Faenza DOC, Colli di Rimini DOC, Colli Etruschi Viterbesi / Tuscia DOC, Colli Lanuvini DOC, Colli Martani DOC, Colli Perugini DOC, Colli Pesaresi DOC, Colli Piacentini DOC, Colli Romagna Centrale DOC, Colline Lucchesi DOC, Controguerra DOC, Cortona DOC, Custoza DOC, Elba DOC, Est! Est!! Est!!! di Montefiascone DOC, Falerio DOC, Garda Colli Mantovani DOC, Garda DOC, Gioia del Colle DOC, Grance Senesi DOC, IGP Terre Abruzzesi / Terre d’Abruzzo, Lizzano DOC, Maremma Toscana DOC, Modena DOC, Molise DOC, Montecarlo DOC, Montecompatri-Colonna / Montecompatri / Colonna DOC, Montecucco DOC, Montefalco DOC, Monteregio di Massa Marittima DOC, Montescudaio DOC, Nettuno DOC, Orcia DOC, Ortona DOC, Orvieto DOC, Pomino DOC, Reno DOC, Roma DOC, Romagna DOC, San Gimignano DOC, San Severo DOC, San Torpè DOC, Sannio DOC, Sant’Antimo DOC, Spoleto DOC, Tarquinia DOC, Terratico di Bibbona DOC, Terre di Pisa DOC, Torgiano DOC, Trebbiano d’Abruzzo DOC, Val d’Arbia DOC, Val d’Arno di Sopra / Valdarno di Sopra DOC, Val di Cornia DOC, Valdadige / Etschtaler DOC, Valdichiana Toscana DOC, Valdinievole DOC, Velletri DOC, Vignanello DOC, Vin Santo del Chianti Classico DOC, Vin Santo del Chianti DOC, Vin Santo di Carmignano DOC, Vin Santo di Montepulciano DOC, Zagarolo DOC

crossmenuchevron-downcross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram