News Brief: Barolo and Barbaresco Now Belong to the World

By Italian Wine Central Staff
June 23, 2014
Posted June 23, 2014

494816079-Serralunga d'AlbaUNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization) on June 22, 2014, added Barolo and Barbaresco to the list of World Heritage sites. The Vineyard Landscape of Piedmont: Langhe-Roero and Monferrato (Italy) joins about 1,000 other sites around the world that are recognized by UNESCO for their “outstanding universal value.” The designated site includes the Barolo DOCG communes of Barolo, Castiglione Falletto, Grinzane Cavour, La Morra, Monforte d’Alba, Novello, and Serralunga d’Alba and the Barbaresco DOCG communes of Barbaresco and Neive. UNESCO specifically includes as part of the World Heritage site “the whole range of technical and economic processes relating to the winegrowing and wine making that has characterized the region for centuries.” Italy now has 50 sites on the World Heritage list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

crossmenuchevron-downcross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram